New Sketch…

Standard

This is an illustration I am working on for the KidLitArt #PBDummy Challenge. I will be laying in color next but would love to hear your thoughts. This will be a night scene… so should be fun to see how the light plays on all the treasure.

 

For those interested, it is a spread for a manuscript that I am writing. The book idea was inspired by the Japanese story of Takara Bune. If you aren’t familiar (which I’m guessing you aren’t) you should google it. It’s a very fun story / tradition involving Seven Gods (ie… Buddha and his friends) and a Treasure Ship. I’m literally writing it just so I can draw these characters… too fun!

I have a bit of work to do on the manuscript… but would like to have some people to critique it here and there as I go. If you are interested in reading through it and letting me know your thoughts, please let me know. It’s my first time writing for kids… so I have a lot of polishing to do… but I think I have a good premise so far.

Hope you enjoy it… will be posting again once I get some color going. 🙂

5 responses »

  1. Love it. Can’t wait to see it with color (night scenes always intrigue me, but equally find them a challenge). Also look forward to reading the manuscript. I am also a writer/illustrator.

  2. Thanks guys!

    There are so many characters in this book that I’m afraid to add any more Kate. I agree that on this spread I’m not sure where they are looking though. In the book they are talking to the main character and to each other here… so I might try adjusting the focus of their gaze toward one another or out to the reader…

    I’m always one for a “sidekick” in an illustration but for this specific spread/manuscript it just won’t really work.

  3. Also, I love the lines…they definitely imply the motion of a ship. I can’t wait to see how this looks as a night scene!

  4. I like this work very much. I like the feel of the piece, the movement of the lanterns, and the flow of the composition.

    One thing occurred to me: Have you considered a small “side” character, such as a mouse or a bird, to add a visual subplot or “commentary” on the main plot? I am not sure what the characters are looking at…I wonder if this little character could interact with them visually from time to time.

    Please upload your MS to the Manuscript Crit page when you are ready, and let us know when it’s up.

Comment

