A piece in progress…

Standard

I know I’m posting a lot… but that means I am also working /thinking a lot right now… so it’s a great thing right!?!

I bought a Wacom Intuos4 and it came in the mail this week.  I am absolutely in LOVE. (Don’t tell my husband).

I’ve been working in Photoshop since (*cough*) 1997… and have even been teaching seminars and workshops on the program for the past few years. Knowing that, it is just plain ridiculous that I haven’t bought a tablet before now. Ridiculous.
When I got it,  I was expecting the normal 3-4 month adjustment period people claim that it takes to get used to using the thing… but oddly enough it fits like an old cozy glove.

To get a better feel for how to get started, I went ahead and bought/watched Will Terry’s first Digital Painting in Photoshop course.  http://folioacademy.com/viewcontrib.php?who=wterry

I was expecting to pick up a few tips here and there… but I ended up watching all three hours in total amazement… taking notes feverishly the entire time. He is a MASTER at color. And, believe it or not, he does his illustrations using only about 2-3 tools in Photoshop. That’s it. He advocates becoming an illustrator in traditional media and then finding a way to create the same technique digitally (Props to traditionalists!). When you look at his previous acrylic work alongside his newer digital work you literally can’t tell one from another. It’s a beautiful thing in a world so smothered in digital art.

I was a quick sell. I’ve been searching for a way to get the detail I need and want, without losing the raw beauty of the texture you see in traditional paintings. By adapting Will’s methods to suit my style, I think I may have turned a really incredible corner. I’ve still got a long way to go on this one… but it is beginning to take shape and I love all the “special moments” that are just starting to form. This one is very dark obviously (a nighttime scene)… so I am excited to try something brighter next.  I just had to share. Would love to hear your thoughts!


And a closeup of the texture:

P.S…. I’ll post the final once it is done.  🙂

6 responses »

  1. Okay, my husband got me an intuos last xmas, and due to having 3 kids in 3 years and in grad school, I haven’t touched it. Not once. Now that my school is wrapping up, I’ve been eyeing that intuos. I have NO experience with any photoshop or digital art, but was wondering what you thought of it? How is it helping you? Is it fairly easy to get the hang of, esp. for someone who isn’t very computer savvy? I’d love your thoughts!

    • I highly recommend the videos I mentioned above by Will Terry. He only uses about 3 tools to do his paintings in Photoshop, so there isn’t much learning curve once you get comfortable with the feel of the Wacom pen. I adjusted to it in about a day of using it… but I’ve heard that for some it can take several months. I would just get it out and use it for your “mouse”… even when browsing the net, etc. All the practice will help once you begin to actually use it for your artwork.

  2. Looking good! That is lining up to be an enchanting piece. Truly impressive that this is a freshman effort with a tablet!

Comment

