Standard

I know a couple of you wanted to know what happened with my hidden picture of The Tortoise and The Hare. Well, I received a response back today. Unfortunately, it was a rejection, but it was a nice rejection. 🙂

Karen B. Jones

Not long ago I sent my The Tortoise and The Hare Hidden Picture image off to Highlights High Five.   I’m not that surprised to have received a rejection in the mail today.  It was an unsolicited submission, after all.

But the type of rejection I got was rather interesting, I thought.  It wasn’t a form letter.  In fact, it wasn’t a letter at all.  It was a hand-written note penned right on my submission letter by the art director herself.  Here’s what she said:

Hi Karen –

Thank you for taking the time to explore a MFHP piece and sending it in.  I can see you’re on your way to developing a clear, workable style.  However, I’m returning it because we don’t accept unsolicited MFHP’s for High Five.  We always assign them to accompany a specific verse.  You may want to try submitting your work to Highlights.  Check the…

View original post 144 more words

5 responses »

  1. Yeah, I’d definitely take this as a good thing! So often the response one gets is no response at all. Handwritten and encouraging is awesome. I feel for you though…its a bit like thinking you finished a race only to have the person standing at the finish line say “great job! Only five more miles!”

Comment

