Back in action… finally.

Standard

I want to apologize for being scarce the past few months. I could blame a number of things… work, my surgery, my toddler, my husband changing jobs, etc.  Truthfully most of it was because I was a bit burnt out and decided to have a pity party for awhile. Chasing this illustration dream can be rough on the ego sometimes and I just need a little break from things.

I HAVE been working on a few things in the sidelines. Particularly an app development project that will be taking up a chunk of my time over the next few months. I’ll be sure to fill you in once I get a bit further in the project, or you can read all about the process on my blog (http://www.andiosiek.com/blog)

That all said, I finally sat myself down at my desk last week and started my second digital illustration. I forgot just how much I love my Wacom and it definitely reenergized me a bit. Look for quite a bit more work coming out of my hand over the next couple of months.

So here is that illustration… for the word “Suspend” given to us by IllustrationFriday.com.  It was a lot of fun and I’m excited to be back. Feel free to check out the last few posts on my blog to see the progress images on this one. Hope you enjoy it and I’ll look forward to seeing all of you at the next meeting in August! (I REALLY can’t believe it’s already mid-July. Wow.)

Jellyfish

As always, comments and constructive criticism are always welcome!

5 responses »

  1. Yes! This is a character who I can relate too. I love all the expression on her face: pride, hope, happiness, and wonder, with a little bit of doubt too. I love it.

  2. I had a look on your website at the earlier versions, and can’t quite decide which I like best. I like the simplicity of the early versions, but then again, I also like the movement added by the bubbles and fish above. But it’s really well done either way. Nice colors and composition.

  3. My daughter (7 years old) saw this over my shoulders and said, “It looks like she really knows how to swim good.” She was very impressed with it.

    I think it’s pretty too. I like the way you did the shading and nice line work.

Comment

