Favorite Children’s Picture Books

Standard

I’m sure we all ended up becoming illustrators of children’s books because we loved picture books as children. I can remember before I was old enough to read, “pretending” to read by memorizing the words that went with the wonderful pictures in my books. I would spend hours looking at the pictures and making up my own stories if I hadn’t memorized the stories in a new book. It was all about the wonderful details and the characters.

I think it would be fun to list our favorite picture books from the time in our lives before we could really read. Can you remember back that far? My favorites (these are all before 1950): The Tale of Peter Rabbit, This Little Piggy, The Little Red Hen, Three little Kittens, Poky Puppy and my all time favorite, Twas’ the Night Before Christmas. Almost all of my beloved books were Little Golden Books, Mom and Dad didn’t have a lot of money, but spending 25 cents for something that would keep me quiet for hours was worth it. Of course, a gallon of gas also costs 25 cents at that time.

Please share your list.

About Dayne Sislen, Children's Book Illustrator

I am a children's book illustrator and graphic designer. I love working with self-publishing children's book authors to help them bring their characters and scenes to life on the printed page. I have spent over 30 years in the design graphics, advertising and marketing business, working with some of the most creative people in the industry. I can take your story idea from character development to finished illustrations and printer ready files. I run on coffee, chocolate and colorful Post-it notes.

3 responses »

  1. You guys are so lucky, to have all these wonderful picture books that were published after 1950. I think the quality of picture books for kids really picked up after 1960. Today there are so many great books it’s hard to pick favorites.

  2. The first books I remember being in love with was “Johnny Lion’s Rubber Boots” and “Frog and Toad are Friends”. One of my absolute favorites was “The Sneetches and Other Stories” by Dr Seuss which included “What Was I Scared Of”, “The Zax”, “Too Many Daves” and “The Sneetches”. The pale green pants in “What Was I Scared Of” freaked me out every time, and I was always happy to see that they were really friendly pants. The Sneetches remains one of my favorites and it gave me my philosophy on tattoos.

  3. My list can actually be found on Pinterest. I have an entire board dedicated to it. Here is the link. http://pinterest.com/katiewools/my-favorite-picture-books/ Of course, I am constantly adding to the list as I remember books I loved. Of course, if I had to pick just one book from childhood that I loved above all others it would be “Hooper Humperdink…? Not Him!” by Theodore LeSieg (aka Dr. Suess) and Illustrated by Charles E Martin. I could look at the illustrations in that book forever! Olivetta Oppenbeam brings a smile to my face every time.

Comment

