My first step to illustrate a children’s book

Standard

The character studies are my favorite part of illustrating a children’s book. I feel it is also the most important part. If you can’t get the character right and don’t feel comfortable drawing them the rest of the book just won’t work. I am working with a self publishing author, so the author is giving me a lot of direction. These are characters she has had in her head for years. It’s very exciting for her to finally see this little ’round’ African American  girl come to life visually. Visit my blog to read more and see some of the rough character sketches so far.  http://wp.me/p2Av8t-7u

Comment

