2014 Caldecott Medal for outstanding illustrated picture book goes to…

Standard

LocomotiveBrian Floca, is the 2014 Caldecott Medal winner  for illustrating the most distinguished American picture book for children: “Locomotive,”  http://www.brianfloca.com/Locomotive.html The book was written by Brian Floca and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. Read more…

About Dayne Sislen, Children's Book Illustrator

I am a children's book illustrator and graphic designer. I love working with self-publishing children's book authors to help them bring their characters and scenes to life on the printed page. I have spent over 30 years in the design graphics, advertising and marketing business, working with some of the most creative people in the industry. I can take your story idea from character development to finished illustrations and printer ready files. I run on coffee, chocolate and colorful Post-it notes.

2 responses »

  1. Yes, I was totally surprised. The press really publicised Mr. Tiger Goes Wild and The Dark so much before the announcments, I just expected them to win something. Maybe they had bigger P.R. budgets or better contacts with the press. Not that I don’t love them both. There is a lot of terrific talent out there, I’m so glad there are awards and medals to give credit..

  2. Thanks for posting ! This book looks pretty amazing—I can’t imagine all the research that went into it. Was anyone else surprised that Mr. Tiger Goes Wild or The Dark didn’t walk away with something? Not that I disagree with the ALA choices choices at all, but I guess I saw so much press on those two…
    I’m really looking forward to reading Kate Dicamillo’s (sp?) new book as well.
    These awards always simultaneously inspire me to create, AND make me want to give it all up and go drive a bus for a living. For the safety of the general public, I’ll stay in my studio for now. Happy creating, y’all!

Comment

